Academic Affairs

Academic Affairs

The Office of Academic Affairs supports the school’s mission of promoting and maintaining an academic environment conducive to excellence in teaching and learning.

Academic Affairs encourages the development of learning experiences designed to prepare graduates skilled in the diverse disciplines of public health. In addition, the office augments the curriculum offered to students by identifying and developing new educational collaborations and dual degree programs with other schools.

The Sr. Associate Dean for Academic Affairs works in concert with the Academic Council to address academic problems and issues, create new academic policy when necessary, and provide oversight for the school s degree programs and curriculum.

Other responsibilities of Academic Affairs includes the general oversight of the academic process, such as:

  • Processing of core course waivers, leave of absence requests and degree progress letters and extensions
  • Preparation and publication of the UTHealth SPH Catalog
  • Publication of a variety of reports to UTHealth SPH faculty and students as well as The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth)
  • Management of the process for adjunct and cross-appointed faculty
  • Active involvement in the accreditation process
  • Management and implementation of the academic discipline policies and procedures
  • Assessment and evaluation of the school’ s curriculum, programs and teaching
  • Management of educational collaborations with internal and external institutions.

In addition, the Sr. Associate Dean for Academic Affairs represents the interests of the school by serving on a variety of committees and working groups at UTHealth and other schools and institutions.

External Agencies

Accreditation

Association of Schools & Programs of Public Health (ASPPH)

Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH) – The UTHealth School of Public Health is accredited by the Council on Education for Public Health.

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) – The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) to award certificates, and baccalaureate, master and doctoral degrees.

Texas Education Code

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB)

UT System Regents’ Rules

Policies

Academics

Policy 100, Student Academic Grievance Process and Flowchart
Policy 101, Customized MPH Program for Regional Campus, Dual Degree Students and Dietetic Interns
Policy 102, Doctoral Committees Structure
Policy 103, Drop Date Deadline for Courses
Policy 104, MPH and MS Committee Structures
Policy 105, Registration Maximum Credits in One Term
Policy 106, Thesis Dissertation Data and Publication Authorship
Policy 107, Academic Remediation Plan and Probation Steps
Policy 108, Test Security Policy 
Policy 109, Student Research Thesis/Dissertation Proposal Approval

Administrative

Policy 200, Student Evaluation Process
Policy 201, Course Grading
Policy 202, Maximum Students in a Course
Policy 203, Minimum Credit Hours Required for MPH Graduation

Degree Requirements

Policy 300, Breadth and Minor Requirements for Doctoral Students
Policy 301, Conditional Admission to Doctoral Programs
Policy 302, Direct Admission from a Bachelors Degree to the PhD Program
Policy 303, Epidemiology Course Requirement
Policy 305, MPH Students and the Core Requirement
Policy 306, Practicum Waiver
Policy 307, Preliminary Exam (formerly Qualifying Exam); Admission to Candidacy and Dissertation Defense
Policy 308, Transfer of Credit Hours

Enrollment

Policy 400, Auditing Courses
Policy 401, Continuous Enrollment
Policy 402, Enrollment Requirements, Degree Time Limits, and Leaves of Absence
Policy 403, Readmission to a Degree Program
Policy 404, Transfer of Students Between the UTHealth SPH Campuses
Policy 405, Verification of Degrees for International Applicants
UTHealth Health Insurance Requirement for all Students

UTHealth Handbook of Operating Procedures (HOOP)

HOOP Policy 129, Academic / Educational Records
HOOP Policy 160, Criminal Background Check
HOOP Policy 186, Student Conduct and Discipline

Office of Academic Affairs and Student Services

NeshAqrawi

Nesh Aqrawi

Assistant Director, Academic and Faculty Affairs
713-500-9071
Nesh.Aqrawi@uth.tmc.edu

MaryAnnSmith

Mary Ann Smith, PhD

Assistant Dean of Students
713-500-9236
Mary.A.Smith@uth.tmc.edu

JanelleRios

Janelle Rios, PhD

Director of Public Health Practice
713-500-9477
Janelle.Rios@uth.tmc.edu

ElvisParada

Elvis Parada

Assistant Director, Student Services
713-500-9028
Elvis.A.Parada@uth.tmc.edu

SarahDauchez

Sarah Dauchez

Assistant Director, Career and Alumni Services
713-500-9025
Sarah.K.Dauchez@uth.tmc.edu

JohnAdams

John Adams

Coordinator, Student Records
713-500-9033
John.Adams@uth.tmc.edu

BrookeBurns

Brooke Burns

Senior Administrative Coordinator, Student Research
713-500-9072
Brooke.Burns@uth.tmc.edu

Holly Cieslikowski

Holly Cieslikowski

Project Specialist
713-500-9365
Holly.Cieslikowski@uth.tmc.edu

SharonCummings

Sharon Cummings

Program Manager, Academic Affairs
713-500-9076
Sharon.S.Cummings@uth.tmc.edu

SarahDonahue

Sarah Donahue

Business Intelligence Analyst 
713-500-9035
Sarah.Donahue@uth.tmc.edu

KoriGould

Kori Gould

Strategic Communications and External Affairs Specialist
713-500-9039
Kori.Gould@uth.tmc.edu

RobertHammarberg

Robert Hammarberg

Academic Advisor
713-500-9031
Robert.Hammarberg@uth.tmc.edu

DeeKirksey

Dee Kirksey

Coordinator, Student Services
713-500-9029
Diari.Kirksey@uth.tmc.edu

Kathryn McAdams

Kathryn McMillan

Coordinator, Student Services
713-500-9037
Kathryn.McAdams@uth.tmc.edu

SamuelNeher

Samuel E. Neher

Special Projects
Samuel.E.Neher@uth.tmc.edu

PeggyPowell

Peggy Powell

Manager, Educational Technology
713-500-9230
Peggy.L.Powell@uth.tmc.edu

LauraRademacher

Laura Rademacher

Educational Programs Coordinator
713-500-9024
Laura.Rademacher@uth.tmc.edu

MannySoto

Manny Soto

Coordinator, Educational Programs
713-500-9082
Manuel.A.Soto@uth.tmc.edu