Delta Omega Honorary Society

Delta Omega Logo (PNG)

The Delta Omega Honorary Society, the public health honorary society of accredited schools and programs of public health, has been active in advancing public health education, practice, and research since its establishment in 1924. The purpose of the society is to encourage excellence in student scholarship and research and to recognize academic and professional achievement in the field of public health. Currently, Delta Omega is home to over 100 chapters of CEPH-accredited schools and programs totaling over 20,000 members nationally. The UTHealth School of Public Health Alpha Iota chapter was established in November 2000 and each year since, Delta Omega admits students, faculty, and alumni to membership. There are currently over 300 members of the UTHealth Alpha Iota chapter.

UTHealth School of Public Health graduation candidates who are in the top 25% of their class and alumni who possess exceptional qualifications and have attained meritorious national or international distinction in the field of public health are eligible for nomination. A list of recent graduates and alumni candidates is distributed to faculty, who can nominate any of those listed. Nominees are then reviewed by the Delta Omega committee, and those selected are invited to join. There is a one-time fee of $50.00 for membership.

The list of new Delta Omega nominees appears in the commencement program and new inductees are recognized by the Dean during our annual commencement ceremony in May.

Benefits to becoming a member of Delta Omega, annual event and involvement opportunities, and additional details regarding this national honorary society can be found at their website,

For more information on the nomination and induction process, please contact Amanda Smithson, Academic Advisor, or Dr. Cecilia Ganduglia Cazaban, UTHealth Alpha Iota Chapter President.

Spring 2019 Nomination Cycle

Faculty Nomination Cycle Opens: Friday, February 15, 2019

Faculty Nomination Cycle Closes: Tuesday, February 26, 2019

Delta Omega Faculty Committee Inductee Selection Deadline: Friday, March 8, 2019

Inductee Invitation Notifications Sent: Monday, March 11, 2019

Inductee Decision Deadline: Friday, Wednesday, March 20, 2019