Student Groups

Student Groups - Student Groups

School of Public Health Student Association

The University of Texas School of Public Health has an active student population who is committed to transforming public health in Texas and around the world. The are many student-based organizations that contribute to furthering student knowledge, opportunity and fellowship.

The School of Public Health Student Association is based at the Houston campus. All students are automatically a part of the organization. SPHSA holds weekly socials in cooperation with other student groups and acts as a student governmental association to relay information to school administration. Each of the school’s regional campuses has a student association as well.

There are also a number of diverse student groups committed to improving public health in their specific areas of interest.

Student InterCouncil

The Student InterCouncil (SIC) is the UTHealth student governance organization and is the recognized forum of student opinion and the primary vehicle for student participation in the governance of UTHealth. The organization is comprised of representatives from each of the six schools

  • Dental Branch
  • Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
  • Medical School
  • School of Biomedical Informatics
  • School of Nursing
  • School of Public Health

and from the underrepresented student representative and international student constituencies.

SPH Student Association 2015-2016

Executive Director: Emily Wei

Associate Director: Shady Al-Sayyed

Administrative Director of Public Relations: Shiva Baghaie

Deputy Director of Public Relations: Sarah Wesely

Administrative Director of Social Activities: Vacant

Deputy Director of Social Activities: Vacant

Administrative Director of Community Involvement: Brenda Cantero

Deputy Director of Community Involvement: Katrina Polivka

Administrative Director of Records: Kathy Abusager

Administrative Director of Finance: Jake Casanova

Student Concerns Representative: Vacent

Student Inter-Council Representatives:  Alokananda Ghosh, Jocelyn Triplett, and Melissa Bing

IT Council Representative: Vacant

Academic Council Rep: Abigail Sedory

Research Council Rep: Josh Fernelius

Practice Council Rep: Kathi Ackerman

School-Wide Curriculum Committee Rep: Pritul Patel

Regional Campus Liason: Vacant

New Student Liaison: Digant Shah

Administrative Advisor: Anne Baronitis

Faculty Advisor: Mary Ann Smith

The Board: A Leadership & Management Organization

Sapna Prasad Mark Biscone Frederic Tchalla Abalo M. Elizabeth Leass Diaa Alqusairi Dr. Lee Revere  President Vice-President Treasurer Secretary Professional Development& Outreach Director Advisor 

Student Epidemic Intelligence Society

Eva Thomas Nishta Joshi Vancheswaran (Deepak) Gopalakrishnan Heather Wilbourn Ahlam Mohammed Iqbal Tehsen Kelly Colclasure Mark Biscone Bob Emery President Vice-President of Membership Vice-President of Outbreak Response Assistant Vice-President of Outbreak Response City of Houston Health Dept Liaison Treasurer Secretary Harris County Health Dept Liaison Advisor

San Antonio SEIS Response Team

Christina Socias Regional Director Regional Response Coordinator Regional Membership Coordinator Metropolitan Health District Liaison Assistant Response Coordinator Becky Bloodworth Secretary Treasurer WebmasterJohn Herbold Advisor

Student Society for Global Health

Charles Chima Andria Rusk Ijeoma “EJ” Ihenacho Mewenenessi “Frederic” Tchalla Abalo Becky Schaefer Rochelle Garza Elizabeth Frost Amy Wieczorek Lizette Rangel Beatrice Selwyn Kaylinh Ly President Vice-President Secretary Treasurer Director of Communication Program Director Operations Officer Director of Member Services Director of Community Relations Advisor Director of International Affairs

Human Genetics Student Society

President: Xerxes Pundole

Advisor: Jan Bressler

International Student Organization (SPH ISO)

Rashmi Dongardive Manasi Shah Vineetkumar Kharat Vacant Vacant Ha Tran Mudita Upadhyaya Vacant Shreela Sharma President Vice President Secretary Communications Liaison Fundraising Chair Treasurer Activities Chair New International Student Liaison Faculty Advisor

Biostatistics Student Association

President: Arup Sinha

Vice-President: Wenfang Li

Treasurer: Roann Seay

Secretary: Dhiraj Gamghire

Social Activities Chair: Adriana Ordonez

Advisor: Wenyaw Chan

International Association of Emergency Managers - Student Chapter

Diaa Alqusairi PresidentAlexandria Stacks Vice-PresidentEmre Yucel Administrative Officer Erica Bamgbopa Financial OfficerAndrea Antwi Public Relation OfficerJoseph Perales Social Officer Advisor

Public Health Students of African Descent

President: Benedict Emesowum

Vice-President: Vacant 

Treasurer: Vacant

Secretary: Vacant

Social Committee Chair: Vacant


Austin Regional Campus Student Association

Brian Lackey Nika Akhavan Mary Klingensmith Sloan Skinner Cassandra (Casey) Enyeart Kelly Klaas Harold (Bill) Kohl President Vice-President Treasurer Communications Chair Community Service Chair Social Activities Chair Advisor

Brownsville Regional Campus Student Association

President: Alessandra Jimenz

Vice-President: Isela Delacruz

Treasurer/Secretary: Angel Guavara

Advisor: Jennifer Salinas

Student Public Health Association of Dallas

President: Sirkala Appana

Vice President: Meghan Denning

Secretary: Hannah Kaplan

Treasurer: Nausheen Habib

Regional Campus Representative: Samantha Schaffer

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Katherine Froehlich-Grobe

El Paso Regional Campus Student Association

President: Edianys Velez
Secretary: Vacant

Treasurer: Jessica Calderon-Mora

Advisor: Hector Balcazar

International Society of Pharmaeconomics and Outcomes Research Student  (ISPOR)

Rohan Parikh Viraj Bhise Santosh Gautam Elifnur Yay Donderici Paul Rowan President Vice-President Treasurer Secretary Faculty Advisor

San Antonio Regional Campus Student Association

Ruth Morris Executive DirectorNicole Henry Vice Executive DirectorVacant Financial Director Jerry Pacheco Events and Volunteer CoordinatorAmanda Waclawczyk UTHSCA LiaisonVacant UTHSC Houston LiaisonJennifer Shaw Advisor

The Society for Nonprofit Leadership Development

President: Nizar Bhulani

Vice-President: Shehzad Mansoor

Secretary: Christine Varghese

Treasurer: Shady Al-Sayyed

Advisor: Rigoberto Delgado

outREACH (Research, Education and Community Health)

External Chair: Dennis Li

Internal Chair: Caitlin Neal

Publicity Chair: Vanessa Cox

Financial Chair: Hannah Pervin

Records Chair: Laura Witte

Staff Advisor: Kim Cook

Faculty Advisor: Vanessa Schick