2018 Beasley Award for Faculty Innovation goes to Ness

Ness photo preferred
Roberta Ness, M.D., M.P.H.

HOUSTON – For its fourth year, UTHealth School of Public Health has presented the R. Palmer Beasley Faculty Award for Innovation. This year’s recipient is Roberta Ness, M.D., M.P.H., the James W. Rockwell Professor in Public Health and fourth dean of the School of Public Health.

She is a professor in the Department of Epidemiology, Human Genetics and Environmental Sciences in Houston. Ness was traveling at the time of the meeting, and Patricia Dolan Mullen, Dr.P.H., received the award on her behalf from the school’s current dean, Eric Boerwinkle, Ph.D.

The award is a legacy to the late R. Palmer Beasley, M.D., who was dean of the School of Public Health for 17 years. During his tenure as dean, the school expanded to include campuses across Texas and the Center for Infectious Diseases was created to help carry out his research vision in the field of infectious diseases.