Ness receives 2017 Abraham Lilienfeld Award

Ness 4 7-10
Roberta B. Ness, M.D., M.P.H.

HOUSTON – Roberta B. Ness, M.D., M.P.H., James W. Rockwell Professor of Public Health at UTHealth School of Public Health and a leading expert in women’s health and innovative thinking, has been named the winner of the Abraham Lilienfeld Award.

The honor is the most prestigious recognition conferred by the American College of Epidemiology and is one of the highest in the profession. The award is given in honor of Abraham Lilienfeld, a pioneer in epidemiology, renowned as a mentor and teacher. Recipients are senior leaders who have made extraordinary contributions to the field of epidemiology over the course of their careers, through both teaching or mentoring and research or scholarship.

Ness received the award in September at the American College of Epidemiology’s annual meeting in New Orleans. She was also recognized as a lifetime Honorary Fellow of the College.

“Dr. Ness is most deserving of this award given her leadership in the field of epidemiology and international contributions in the area of innovative thinking. Our faculty and students greatly benefit from her mentoring and teaching,” says Alanna C. Morrison, Ph.D., professor and chair of the Department of Epidemiology, Human Genetics and Environmental Sciences at UTHealth School of Public Health.

Ness is former dean of UTHealth School of Public Health. She is a professor in the Department of Epidemiology, Human Genetics and Environmental Sciences, a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies of Science, a fellow of the American College of Physicians and past president of the American College of Epidemiology and American Epidemiological Society.

In addition, Ness has authored four books and given more than 90 talks and workshops on innovative thinking, and offers a free on-line course: Reinvent Yourself: Unleash Your Creativity.

— Written by Anissa Anderson Orr