Skip to Content
The Center for Health Promotion and Prevention Research

Published: $date.format('long_date',$st.publishedDate1)

Emery, Susan 4L3C6039
Susan Tortolero Emery, Ph.D.

HOUSTON – Susan Tortolero Emery, Ph.D., senior associate dean for academic affairs and research at UTHealth School of Public Health, has been elected to The University of Texas Kenneth I. Shine., M.D., Academy of Health Science Education.

The Shine Academy is an organization of distinguished scholars recognized for their teaching excellence and commitment to the enhancement of health science education. Members must be outstanding teachers in the UT health science system in categories including direct teaching, curriculum development, instructional design or redesign, assessment of learner performance, counseling and mentorship, educational administration and leadership, and educational scholarship and research.

The organization elects 12 new members each year. Tortolero Emery is one of two faculty members representing The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth). Manickam Kupmaravel, M.D., from McGovern Medical School was also elected this year.

“The Shine Academy is very selective and is a great honor,” says Eric Boerwinkle, Ph.D., dean of UTHealth School of Public Health and Kozmetsky Family Chair in Human Genetics. “We’re honored that Susan has been asked to join its ranks. This recognition is much-deserved.”

With induction into the Shine Academy, faculty members are eligible to receive the title of Distinguished Teaching Professor from UT System.

Past inductees
Current and former UTHealth School of Public Health faculty members inducted into the academy in previous years include L. Kay Bartholomew Eldredge, Ed.D., M.P.H.; Pat Mullen, Dr.P.H., M.P.H.; Wenyaw Chan, Ph.D.; Stephen Linder, Ph.D.; Margaret Caughy, Sc.D.; and George Delclos, M.D., Ph.D.

The 2017 Shine Academy inductees will be recognized during the organization’s annual conference, held Feb. 16-17 in Austin.

— Written by Anissa Anderson Orr