Department History and Milestones

Authorized in 1947, the Texas State Legislature appropriated funds for the UT School of Public Health in 1967. The first class was admitted in 1969. Currently it is one of the six schools in  The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth), a public academic health science center in Houston, Texas, which was created in 1972 by The University of Texas System Board of Regents.  It is located in the Texas Medical Center, the largest medical center in the world.


  • The University of Texas School of Public Health (UTSPH) is established.


  • The Biometry Program was founded by Dr. Richard D. Remington
  • First biometry faculty recruited and first biometry student enrolled
  • UTSPH is housed in the Anderson Mayfair Hotel.


  • Matrix structure of UTSPH is formed to foster interdisciplinary teaching and research
  • First biometry M.S. degree awarded.
  • Trailers help temporarily accommodate School’s growth.


  • A group of Biometry Faculty, led by Dr. Richard D. Remington, are awarded the 15-year contract for the Hypertension Detection and Follow-Up Program (HDFP) Coordinating Center from the National Heart and Lung Institute of NIH, which is the largest single intervention clinical trial ever conducted in the USA.
  • UTSPH and Biometry Program move to Phase I Building


  • First biometry Ph.D. degree awarded to Judy B. Bean


  • Richard D. Remington leaves UTSPH to become the Dean of University of Michigan School of Public Health
  • Ralph Frankowski succeeds Dr. Richard D. Remington as the Convener of Biometry Program


  • Degrees awarded to date: 16 M.S. and 3 Ph.D.


  • Robert Hardy succeeds Dr. Ralph Frankowski as the Convener of Biometry Program


  • Coordinating Center for Clinical Trials (CCCT) is established.
  • UTSPH Biometry Program co-hosts the American Statistical Association (ASA) annual meeting in Houston (Shamrock Hotel)
  • Degrees awarded to date: 32 M.S. and 11 Ph.D.


  • Ronald Forthofer succeeds Dr. Robert Hardy as the Convener of Biometry Program


  • Jay H. Glasser succeeds Dr. Ronald Forthofer as the Convener of Biometry Program


  • Degrees awarded to date: 38 M.S. and 19 Ph.D.


  • A new “Data Analysis Track” was established in M.S. Biometry Program
  • Mort Hawkins is appointed as Associate Dean for Research in UTSPH


  • Robert Hardy is appointed as Associate Dean for Academic Affairs in UTSPH
  • Eun Sul Lee succeeds Dr. Jay H. Glasser as the Convener of Biometry Program


  • First M.S. degree in Data Analysis Track is awarded


  • Asha Kapadia succeeds Dr. Eun Sul Lee as the Convener of Biometry Program
  • Degrees awarded to date: 50 M.S. and 31 Ph.D.


  • Barbara Tilley, a 1981 graduate of the Biometry PhD Program becomes president of the Eastern North American Region (ENAR) of the Biometry Society.


  • When Dr. Robert Hardy became the Chair of The Division of Biometry”


  • Division of Biometry is renamed as “Division of Biostatistics.”
  • Barry Davis succeeds Dr. Robert Hardy as the Director of the Division of Biostatistics


  • Robert Hardy succeeds Dr. Barry Davis as the Chair of Department of Biostatistics


  • Division of Biostatistics is renamed as the Department of Biostatistics.
  • Barbara Tilley is recruited to succeeds Dr. Robert Hardy as the Chair of Department of Biostatistics


  • Barry R. Davis succeeds Dr. Barbara Tilley as the Interim Chair of Department of Biostatistics


  • Hulin Wu succeeds Dr. Barry R. Davis as the Chair of Department of Biostatics
  • The Department name is changed to “the Department of Biostatistics and Data Science”


  • First faculty in Data Science with Ph.D. Training in Computer Science is recruited
  • A task force is established to develop data science education programs
  • Center for Big Data in Health Sciences is established
  • Center for Biostatistics Collaboration and Data Services is established
  • AMSTATNEWS (August 2018) ranked our PhD program among the top 6 largest Biostatistics PhD program (ranked #2 in the number of doctoral students graduated from 2013-2017).


  • Six new data science courses are developed
  • Two Data Science Certificates (Basic and Advanced) are established